Never apologise, never explain

I’ve started hand knitting gloves again after a break since the end of February, and blogging about it too. I have a pair of Sanquhar damrod pattern ones on the needles, almost up to the fingers, which I returned to today. As always after a break, they take some sorting out. This is the general scene as I deciphered the pattern, which hand is which. I had to find some other Sanquhar gloves, one pair that were the first I ever knitted, just seen at the top of the picture, and a pair I bought in A’the Airts, the arts centre in Sanquhar when I made a research visit there in October 2014. These are brown and yellow, a rather unattractive (in my opinion) combination, but often found as an alternative to black and white for Sanquhar gloves. In fact, one pair in the Knitting & Crochet Guild Collection is in these colours.

 

IMG_0053

I found out after much trying on, deciphering notes etc that the initials and date are falling on the inside of the wrists … I thought that I had it planned so they are on the outsides, but no matter how much I tried to alter the layout of the patterns and which hand is which, there was no alternative. I much prefer knitting my own designs for this reason – you (I) know where I am with things, far more than when I am following someone else’ pattern.

There are several written patterns for Sanquhar gloves – from the Scottish (rural, now sadly dropped) Women’s Institutes, Patons and Baldwin’s, The People’s Friend,  the Alison Thomson booklet, and the one that’s on the Japanese web site. I wrote a bit about this in the Center for Knit and Crochet on line exhibition.

Anyway, now I’m knitting again it’s fun with the fingers as you have one square or damrod on each of three double pointed needles. I’ve started the first finger on each hand.

IMG_0085

A major reason for getting going again on the glove front was the workshop I gave a week or so ago, in York, on Yorkshire gloves, for Westcliffe on Tour. This was a very pleasant day as part of a Yorkshire themed knitting weekendbased in York. By the end of the day a good start had been made on the Yorkshire gloves that I designed for the workshop.

IMG_0046

I think the one that is furthest up the hand is the one I am knitting to test the pattern!

Never apologise, never explain, is a phrase that a friend of mine uses and I had always assumed that it was said first by someone like Dorothy Parker or Oscar Wilde … not so. According to Google (or similar) it was said by some naval commander in the first World War. However, I do usually try to do both, except today it would take too long. Sorry!

3 thoughts on “Never apologise, never explain

Leave a reply

